34 polluting thermal power units to be shut amid clean up exercise in India

Go Green

In a big cleaning up exercise, the government proposes to shutdown 34 units of 12 polluting power plants with a total capacity of over 500 MW that have not submitted any emission control compliance plan.

As per the new emissions standards for thermal plants proposed by the environment ministry, they have currently, coal-based power plants across instal and upgrade equipment including putting up flue gas desulphurisation (FGD) units and electrostatic precipitators (ESP) in power plants. This requires an estimated Rs 27 lakh-45 lakh per MW for FGD installation, necessitating a rise of Rs 0.62-0.93/unit in power tariffs.

Power ministry officials said while a large number of thermal plants (over 300) are going ahead with the emission reduction projects, around 34 units have not submitted any plan to adhere to the prescribed emission control norms. These units are more than 20 years old, and the bulk of them are run by state governments, while some are operated by the Central government-owned Damodar Valley Corporation (Bokaro and Durgapur) and private company CESC (Titagarh).

“These plants would be shut down or retired as per phasing out plan and timelines are given by the Central Pollution Control Board and Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change,” power minister RK Singh has said.

Power companies have retired almost 14000 MW of coal-based generation capacities over the last 18 years. According to data compiled by the government’s power advisory arm, Central Electricity Authority (CEA), 164 thermal power generating units were retired during the period.

Previous articleCourt weighs allowing courtroom cameras in George Floyd case
Next articleIs there any difference between a Creative and Brilliant Person?
Arushi Sana is the Co Founder of NYK Daily. She was a Forensic Data Analyst previously employed with EY (Ernst & Young). She aims to develop a global community of knowledge and journalism par excellence through this News Platform. Arushi holds a degree in Computer Science Engineering. She is also a Mentor for women suffering from Mental Health, and helps them in becoming published authors. Helping and educating people always came naturally to Arushi. She is a writer, political researcher, a social worker and a singer with a flair for languages. Travel and nature are the biggest spiritual getaways for her. She believes Yoga and communication can make the world a better place, and is optimistic of a bright yet mysterious future!

Was it worth reading? Let us know.