What You Need to Know About Drinking and Driving Laws in Arizona

If you live in Arizona, it is essential that you know the drinking and driving laws in order to keep safe. Click here to learn more.

n many states, you can have a drink and then drive as long as your blood alcohol content (BAC) is under the legal limit and you drive safely. Typically, the limit is 0.08%. However, drinking and driving laws in Arizona aren’t like many other states.

Arizona takes a hard stance on driving under the influence, and you don’t need to be drunk for the state to slap you with DUI charges. Here’s what everyone should know about the consequences of drinking and driving in Arizona.

What’s the Legal Limit in Arizona?

Arizona’s DUI law prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in two instances:

  • When you have a BAC of 0.08% or more
  • When your driving is impaired by alcohol (or drugs) at all

In other words, you can be pulled over, tested, and arrested even if your BAC is below the legal limit. To the state of Arizona, it doesn’t matter if you only had a glass of wine or a beer: if it impacts your driving in any way, you can’t pick up your keys.

Why can’t you pick up your keys? Because the law doesn’t just prevent you from driving a car. It applies to anyone with “actual physical control” of the vehicle. In other words, if you are drunk and in your vehicle with the car running, you can still face a DUI, even if you never leave your parking space.

Ultimately, the goal of the laws isn’t just to punish drinking and driving but to prevent it from happening in the first place.

What are the DUI Penalties in Arizona?

The DUI penalties in Arizona are steep, even for first-time offenders. All DUIs come with jail time, fines, and a license suspension. Here is what anyone convicted of a DUI can expect:

1st offense:  

  • Jail – 24 hours to 10 days
  • $1,480 base fine
  • License suspension 90 days to 1 year

2nd offense:  

  • Jail – 30 to 90 days
  • $3,000 base fine
  • 1-year license suspension

3rd offense:  

  • Jail – 30 to 90 days
  • $3,000 base fine
  • 1-year license suspension

Everyone convicted of a DUI must also use an interlock ignition device.

These apply to DUIs, but the penalties for Extreme DUI (BAC of 0.15% or higher), Super Extreme DUI (BAC of 0.20% or higher), or Aggravated DUI are even harsher. Not only are all these extraordinary DUIs felonies, but an Aggravated DUI comes with a minimum prison sentence of two years.

A DUI conviction can dramatically alter your life and limit your future opportunities. To make the best case for yourself, it’s incredibly important to work with a criminal defense attorney like Gordon Thompson DUI & Criminal Attorney with experience in DUI law.

Arizona’s Drinking and Driving Laws Are Tough

Arizona takes drunk driving seriously, and the state’s drinking and driving laws aim to stamp out drunk driving before it starts. As a result, you can face DUI charges for being in your car, even if you’re not driving.

Did you learn something new in this post? Get more great content in our Lifestyle archive.

Previous articleLeisure In The Lanes of Ladakh, India
Next articleTime Limit for Availing LPG Cylinders Extended for Ujjwala Beneficiaries
Arushi Sana is the Co Founder of NYK Daily. She was a Forensic Data Analyst previously employed with EY (Ernst & Young). She aims to develop a global community of knowledge and journalism par excellence through this News Platform. Arushi holds a degree in Computer Science Engineering. She is also a Mentor for women suffering from Mental Health, and helps them in becoming published authors. Helping and educating people always came naturally to Arushi. She is a writer, political researcher, a social worker and a singer with a flair for languages. Travel and nature are the biggest spiritual getaways for her. She believes Yoga and communication can make the world a better place, and is optimistic of a bright yet mysterious future!

Was it worth reading? Let us know.