43 African countries still under complete border closure

The Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Africa CDC) on Saturday said that 43 African countries are under full border closure due to concerns related to the rapid spread of COVID-19 in Africa.

The Africa CDC, specialized healthcare agency of the African Union (AU) Commission, disclosed on Saturday that some 43 African countries are still under “full border closure” while night-time curfew has been activated across 35 countries in an effort to halt the spread of the infectious virus.

As of Saturday morning, the number of confirmed COVID-19 positive cases across the African continent surpassed 225,105 as the death toll from the pandemic also rose to 6,040, according to the latest figures from the Africa CDC.

The continental disease control and prevention agency also said that some 102,846 people who were infected with COVID-19 had recovered across the continent so far.

The Africa CDC also indicated that some seven African countries have imposed international air traffic closures, while two other countries have imposed travel restrictions to and from specific countries, and two other African countries have also activated entry/exit restrictions.

According to the Africa CDC, some African countries still allow cargo, freight and emergency transport into and out of their respective countries, and some AU member countries also still allow citizens and residents to enter but all borders are essentially closed.

It also noted that 54 African countries are practicing limited public gathering, some 38 countries have exercised country-wide closure of educational institutions, while limited prison and hospital visits has been also ordered across 20 countries.

Amid growing efforts to contain the spread of COVID-19 across countries in Africa, some 18 countries have also initiated mass screening and testing, while 41 countries are practicing mandatory public use of face masks, it was noted.

Was it worth reading? Let us know.